Do You Trust Me?

Do you have any pets? Maybe you have a dog or a cat, or even an iguana! Well, if you have a pet that you love and are very attached to, we can relate with each other. I have a gorgeous, sassy little dog. She is sugar and spice and everything nice (and I make sure to tell her so every day :-)). Her energy level is usually full throttle – she absolutely has to have supercharged playtime daily. Her toybox (yes, she has a toybox ;-)) overflows with toys of various shapes and colors and she never gets tired of any of them. Yep, this little dog keeps me on my toes, but I wouldn’t want it any other way. There’s one particular thing she does that’s not only adorable, but is also a way in which God speaks to me quite often. One thing she loves to do is roll over on her back and expose her cute fuzzy tummy with the hope that her tummy will get a rubdown. Seriously, she could be in the middle of running around in circles like she drank an entire pot of coffee (don’t worry, I don’t let her drink my strongly brewed java), yet she will instantly roll over on her back if she thinks there’s a belly rub in store for her. Well, I read somewhere that when a dog rolls over on its back willingly for its owner, that is proof that the dog genuinly trusts its owner because, when a dog is on its back, it has let down its guard. Wow, it makes me feel wonderful that my dog trusts me that much! Well, somtimes when I’ve pondered my dog’s trusting actions, God has spoken to me and reminded me that we, His children, need to trust Him fully and let down our guards. We need to surrender all to Him and trust Him – trust Him with our everything. If my dog can trust me so much that she extinguishes all inhibitions, rolls onto her back, and breathes in deeply the air of peace, knowing at every moment that I will protect and defend her, how much more should we trust the Lord and believe, with utmost certainty, that He is who the Bible says He is and that He does want the best for us? We need to breathe in deeply His peace and stand upon His promises as His beloved children. Please rest assured in your heart today that you are loved and cherished by the Maker of the universe, by the Lord of Lords, and know that when you surrender all to Him, He will bless you with an overflow and abundance of His goodness. Let go and let God.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding. Seek His will in all you do, and He will show you which path to take.”
Proverbs 3:5-6

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://hope411.wordpress.com/2010/03/19/do-you-trust-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a lovely analogy! Yes, I would truly love to have my belly rubbed (metaphorically speaking, of course!!!)
    Lindsey Petersen
    http://5kidswdisabilities.wordpress.com

  2. Ahhhhh…what a wonderful post ;)I have a kitty cat that we rescued from the cold hard streets and she never ceases to entertain with her antics. Even as I type this, I am chuckling to myself as I believe her to be in a “teenage stage,” where she feels entitled,as opposed to thankful, but still appreciative at times. :)Thank God He is always there, no matter how much we trust Him.
    Matthew 11:28


Leave a Reply

