“Life is uncertain. Eat dessert first.” -Ernestine Ulmer

This may sound strange, but I love to eat cookies for breakfast.  Wait, don’t alert the health police just yet! I make these cookies myself and they’re quite healthy. They look like regular peanut butter chocolate chip cookies, but their ingredients are very different from what you’d expect: ALA Omega-3 peanut butter, wheat germ, pure honey, stevia powder, and the list goes on. They’re cookies that make you feel like your indulging in a “ships to your hips” treat, but in reality, they’re filling your body with goodness. Ok, back to my story now. I LOVE waking up to these yummy sweet treats in the morning. One giant cookie with two cups of strong, bold coffee is just what I need in the AM to revive me from my zombie state (I am NOT a morning person). But wait, there’s more to my breakfast time delight. Yep, the most important part of my morning is…*drum roll*…the Holy Word of God! This glorious holy Book makes me bouncy in the morning, too :). I love reading God-breathed Scriptures – words energized by my loving God – to help guide me throughout my day. It’s more vital to my breakfast than the cookie and the coffee combined! Ingesting God’s Word is like filling your car up with gas. This morning, I read Isaiah 26. Part of this chapter is as follows: “You will keep in perfect peace all who trust in You, all whose thoughts are fixed on You! Trust in the Lord always, for the Lord God is the eternal Rock” (Isaiah 26:3-4). See what I mean? It’s incredible! These words spoke wisdom to my soul this very morning. They reminded me that if I trust in the Lord – my strong, unwavering Rock – with my whole heart, He will grant me perfect peace. Wow! That’s good stuff! I encourage you to dive into the Scriptures yourself. Pray that God will guide you to the Scriptures that He wants you to read as you flip through the pages of His Word. His Spirit lives in those pages. The Bible says, “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning” (John 1:1-2).

In closing, I want you to know that I am praying for you today. I know God has great things in store for you and that His blessings for your life are beyond what you can even comprehend. Call on the Lord; yes, call on Him. You will never ever be disappointed.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://hope411.wordpress.com/2010/01/31/life-is-uncertain-eat-dessert-first-ernestine-ulmer/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Great post, yes the Word is always yummy. As a sales person I spend hours each week in the car, so I have the Word on MP3 which plays almost constantly when I am in the car. I find that hearing the Word does indeed give a different perspective/revelation than just reading it. We also play the Word at night – I don’t know how much we actually hear/retain while asleep but it is nice to hear it when we awaken be it morning or midnight.


Leave a Reply

